Thank you for your interest in Community Change Champions Awards. This event occurred on September 30, 2021 where we celebrated the Champions leading us to stay rooted in our purpose while rising our power to the next level.

We invite you to relive the powerful moments by watching the program on YouTube.

This September we will gather in community to realize the complex truth of the past year — the mix of pain and fear, determination and hope, grief and grit. Together we will recognize those who carried us through all that was 2020: a global pandemic, economic devastation, the uprising for Black lives, our democracy at a precipice. And we will step into the opportunity of 2021 in our larger fight for a more just, equitable, and inclusive world. 

The strength it takes to rise.


Already Registered for Champions?

Your Access

Every guest must pre-register to receive their secure individualized link to join us on our event platform. Your Private links to access the event platform will be sent via email within one business day to the address with which you registered. The email will come from “Community Change” with a subject line of “Your link to join Community Change on September 30.” 

When does Champions begin?

Our Live Awards Program will start promptly at 6pm ET/ 3pm PT. The VIP Reception for top sponsors will begin at 5:15pm ET/2:15pm PT.  We encourage you to log on early to explore the platform, check out the conversation in the chat, and weigh in on this year’s poll. 

Questions? Can’t find your link?

Contact [email protected] or call 202.339.9332.

This year, join us to honor and learn from:

Champion in
Community Organizing

National Domestic Workers Alliance, accepted by Ai-jen Poo

Champion in
Labor Partnership

Front Line Essential Workers, accepted by members and leaders of AFSCME, APWU, SEIU, NEA, UFCW, and UNITE HERE

Emerging Change Champion

Lorena Quiroz-Lewis, Executive Director & Founder, Immigrant Alliance for Justice and Equity in Mississippi

Disruptor Change Champion

Nikole Hannah-Jones

Dorian Warren

Co-President, Community Change

Lorella Praeli

Co-President, Community Change

Host Committee

Hon. Hakeem Jeffries

Congressman Representing the 8th District of New York and Chairman of the House Democratic Caucus

Julián Castro

Former U.S. Secretary of Housing and Urban Development

Laleh Ispahani

Managing Director, Open Society-U.S

Hon. Pramila Jayapal

Congresswoman Representing the 7th District of Washington

Tom Perriello

Executive Director, Open Society-U.S.

Mike Kubzansky

Chief Executive Officer, Omidyar Network

Elaine Welteroth

NYT Bestselling Author, Award- Winning Journalist, Former Editor-in-Chief of Teen Vogue

2021 Sponsors

Check out our amazing 2021 Change Champions sponsors.


  • Katrina vanden Heuvel
  • SEIU


  • Chris Hughes & Sean Eldridge


  • Naomi Aberly


  • Deepak Bhargava & Harry Hanbury
  • Ed & Jan Booth
  • Jonathan & Connie Heller
  • Planned Parenthood Federation of America
  • UFCW


  • Donna Katzin
  • IBT
  • International Union, UAW
  • MadWolf Technologies
  • Paula & Barry Litt
  • Steve McConnell 


  • APWU
  • Building Skills Partnership 
  • Do Big Things
  • Harmon, Curran, Spielberg & Eisenberg, LLP
  • Jane Fox-Johnson & Mitchell Johnson
  • Jeff & Karen Berman 


  • Aaron Dorfman & Geneen Massey
  • Amy Merrill 
  • Arlene Holt Baker & Willie Baker
  • Becky Wasserman & Carlos Jimenez
  • Boston Common Asset Management 
  • Center on Budget and Policy Priorities
  • Christina Greer
  • David R. Jones
  • Deepak Pateriya & Pronita Gupta
  • Diane Feeney
  • Dorian & Jourden Warren
  • Jackie Jenkins-Scott 
  • Jim & Suzanne Gollin
  • Judy Patrick
  • Kelly Brown
  • Lisa García Bedolla
  • Lorella Praeli & Timothy Eakins
  • Manuel Pastor & Betsy Hamilton
  • Mary M. Lassen & Martin Liebowitz
  • Renay Loper 
  • Ryan Young & Matthew Layton
  • Sherece West-Scantlebury & Joseph Scantlebury
  • Stephanie Valencia
  • Tim Sweeney
  • William Arnone 

Spirit of the Awards

We celebrate the work that often goes unheralded, and the people and organizations that keep our vision for a just world alive. Too frequently, we focus only on the final outcome of a campaign instead of taking a moment to honor the people and organizations working behind the scenes to transform their communities and our country. The Community Change Champions Awards were created to do just that: to recognize the people and organizations whose work is making progress toward social justice a reality.

The organizers and leaders who inspire people to identify the changes they need and take action to fight for them.

The artists and thinkers who envision a more just future, and what it will take to get us all there.

Our partners in the labor movement, who share our commitment to rights and opportunity for hard-working people.

The organizations that bring people together and build their communities with grassroots power.

The public servants who carry the voices of the people with them into the corridors of power.

The donors and philanthropists who help build a broader movement by connecting people with resources that help them fight for change.

The emerging leaders who demonstrate courage, compassion, leadership, and the promise to build a broader movement for change.

And the activists who demonstrate bravery, determination and resolve, even when the obstacles seem insurmountable and change seems out of reach.

Explore the honorees from our
Community Change Champions 2020

2020 Champion in Philanthropic Leadership

Susan Pritzker, Co-Founder, The Libra Foundation

2020 Champion in Community Organizing

United We Dream Network

2020 Emerging
Change Champion

Clarissa Doutherd, Executive Director, Parent Voices Oakland

2020 Disruptor
Change Champion

Movement for Black Lives