Join Us

This Year's Program

Champion in Community Organizing

Garlin Gilchrist II, Lieutenant Governor, Michigan & Former Community Change Staff and Board

Champion in Philanthropic Leadership

Lisa Hamilton, President and Chief Executive Officer, The Annie E. Casey Foundation

Champion in Labor Partnership

United Teachers Los Angeles, Accepted by Juan Ramirez



The Annie E. Casey Foundation

Marguerite Casey Foundation

The Nation



Andrea Soros Colombel

Bauman Foundation

Dorian T. Warren

Paulette Meyer & David Friedman

Quinn Delaney & Wayne Jordan


Chris Hughes and Sean Eldridge

Ed & Jan Booth


Evelyn and Walter Haas, Jr. Fund

Hannah L. Kranzberg

Jennifer and Jonathan Allan Soros Foundation

John S. and James L. Knight Foundation

Jonathan and Connie Heller

NextGen America

Nia Impact Capital

Susan Sandler and Steve Phillips

United Food & Commercial Workers International Union


Carol M. Barger

Center for Law and Social Policy

Clifford Chance US LLP

Greg Jobin Leeds and Maria Jobin Leeds

Gelman, Rosenberg & Freedman

Harmon, Curran, Spielberg & Eisenberg, LLP

Jeff & Karen Berman

Mary Mountcastle

Naomi Aberly

Paula and Barry Litt

Planned Parenthood Federation of America

United Auto Workers International Union




Alta CPA Group

American Postal Workers Union, AFL-CIO

Donna Katzin

Catherine Samuels

Cecilia Munoz & Amit Pandya


Jane Fox-Johnson

National Immigration Forum

People’s Action Institute

Unbound Philanthropy

United Bank

Deepak Bhargava Sponsor

Accelerate Change

Amy Merrill

Andy and Jennifer Stern

Arlene Holt Baker & Willie Baker

Betsy Krieger

Bill Dempsey

Boston Common Asset Management

Center for Popular Democracy

Center on Budget and Policy Priorities

Chuck Muckenfuss & Angela Lancaster

Community Service Society of New York

Deepak Pateriya & Pronita Gupta

Diane Feeney

Donna Hall

Esther Lopez

Garland & Deborah Yates

Family Values @ Work

Food Research & Action Center

Jackie Jenkins-Scott

Jim and Suzanne Gollin

Jim Weill and Judy Waxman

Jobs With Justice

Jonathan Rose

Judy Patrick

Julia Taylor Kennedy

Larry Kleinman and Leslie Frane

Kelly Brown

Lisa Garcia-Bedolla

MadWolf Technologies

Manuel Pastor

Mary Lassen & Martin Liebowitz

Mary Morris Willis

Nancy & Bart Westcott

National Domestic Workers Alliance

National Housing Trust

National LGBTQ Task Force

Pillars Fund

Progressive Multiplier Fund

Robert E. Friedman

Sherece West-Scantlebury and Joe Scantlebury

The Democracy Alliance

Tim Sweeney

TK & Muktha Somanath

The Voter Participation Center

Walden Asset Management

Partner Sponsor

Metro Industrial Areas Foundation

Washington Interfaith Network

Honorary Host Committee

Spirit of the Awards

We celebrate the work that often goes unheralded, and the people and organizations that keep our vision for a just world alive. Too frequently, we focus only on the final outcome of a campaign instead of taking a moment to honor the people and organizations working behind-the-scenes to transform their communities and our country. The Community Change Champions Awards were created to do just that: to recognize the people and organizations whose work is making progress toward social justice a reality.

  • The organizers and leaders who inspire people to identify the changes they need and take action to fight for them.
  • The public servants who carry the voices of the people with them into the corridors of power.
  • The artists and thinkers who envision a more just future, and what it will take to get us all there.
  • The donors and philanthropists who help build a broader movement by connecting people with resources that help them fight for change.
  • Our partners in the labor movement, who share our commitment to rights and opportunity for hard-working people.
  • The emerging leaders who demonstrate courage, compassion, leadership, and the promise to build a broader movement for change.
  • The organizations that bring people together and build their communities with grassroots power.
  • And the activists who demonstrate bravery, determination and resolve, even when the obstacles seem insurmountable and change seems out of reach.

Previous Honorees

Champion in Community Organizing

Fair Immigration Reform Movement

Champion in Philanthropic Leadership

Barbara Picower, President, The JPB Foundation

Champion in Public Service

Hon. John Lewis, Representing Georgia's 5th District

Emerging Change Champion

John Jairo Lugo, Unidad Latina en Acción

Last Year's Event Photos