How to Join Us

Join us as we gather in virtual community to celebrate those leading the way in this pivotal moment for our movement. 100% of your event donation will directly support our vital work to build the power of low-income people of color through protest, organizing, and voting. Together, we can win big this November. The stakes have never been higher.

All registered event attendees will receive a unique log-in and password for our event platform sent via email. 

Online registration has now closed.

If you have not received your log-in information or are still interested in joining the celebration please contact Darylle Sheehan at or 774-282-0478

This Year's Program

Champion in Philanthropic Leadership

Susan Pritzker, Co-Founder, The Libra Foundation  


Champion in Community Organizing

United We Dream Network

Honoree_Clarissa Doutherd2

Emerging Change Champion

Clarissa Doutherd, Executive Director, Parent Voices Oakland

Disruptor Change Champion

Movement for Black Lives



  • SEIU


  • Chris Hughes & Sean Eldridge
  • The Nation


  • Color of Change


  • Deepak Bhargava & Harry Hanbury
  • Donna Katzin
  • Ed & Jan Booth
  • Jonathan & Connie Heller
  • Naomi Aberly
  • NEA
  • Planned Parenthood Federation of America
  • Quinn Delaney & Wayne Jordan
  • Sherece West-Scantlebury & Joseph Scantlebury


  • Carol Barger
  • International Union of Painters and Allied Trades, AFL-CIO
  • Nancy & Bart Westcott
  • Paula & Barry Litt
  • Phone2Action


  • Harmon, Curran, Spielberg & Eisenberg, LLP
  • Jane Fox-Johnson & Mitchell Johnson
  • Jeff & Karen Berman
  • United Bank


  • Aaron Dorfman & Geneen Massey
  • Alta CPA Group
  • Arlene Holt Baker & Willie Baker
  • Becky Wasserman & Carlos Jimenez
  • Boston Common Asset Management
  • Center for Law and Social Policy
  • Center for Popular Democracy
  • Center on Budget and Policy Priorities
  • Christina Greer
  • David R. Jones
  • Deepak Pateriya & Pronita Gupta
  • Diane Feeney
  • Dorian & Jourden Warren
  • Jackie Jenkins-Scott
  • James Cadogan & Maya Martin Cadogan
  • Jim & Suzanne Gollin
  • Jobs With Justice
  • Judy Patrick
  • Julia Taylor Kennedy 
  • Kelly Brown
  • Lillian Shirley
  • Lisa Garcia Bedolla
  • Lorella Praeli & Timothy Eakins
  • M. Faith Burton
  • Madwolf Technologies
  • Manuel Pastor
  • Mary M. Lassen & Martin Liebowitz
  • Mary Morris Willis
  • Mary Beth Maxwell
  • Tim Sweeney
  • Women’s Foundation of California

Host Committee

Alexis McGill Johnson

Planned Parenthood Federation of America

Andrew Friedman

The Center for Popular Democracy

Arlene Holt Baker

Community Change, Board Chair

Deepak Pateriya

Community Change, Managing Director

Dorian Warren

Community Change, President

Erica Smiley

Jobs With Justice

Jane Fox-Johnson

Community Change Board

Judy Patrick

Community Change Board

Lisa Garcia Bedolla

Community Change Action, Board Chair 

Lorella Praeli 

Community Change Action, President 

Hon. Mark Pocan

Congressman Representing the 2nd District of Wisconsin

Mary Kay Henry


Hon. Pramila Jayapal

Congressman Representing the 7th District of Washington 

Sherece West-Scantlebury

Community Change Board

Taryn Higashi

Spirit of the Awards

We celebrate the work that often goes unheralded, and the people and organizations that keep our vision for a just world alive. Too frequently, we focus only on the final outcome of a campaign instead of taking a moment to honor the people and organizations working behind-the-scenes to transform their communities and our country. The Community Change Champions Awards were created to do just that: to recognize the people and organizations whose work is making progress toward social justice a reality.

  • The organizers and leaders who inspire people to identify the changes they need and take action to fight for them.
  • The public servants who carry the voices of the people with them into the corridors of power.
  • The artists and thinkers who envision a more just future, and what it will take to get us all there.
  • The donors and philanthropists who help build a broader movement by connecting people with resources that help them fight for change.
  • Our partners in the labor movement, who share our commitment to rights and opportunity for hard-working people.
  • The emerging leaders who demonstrate courage, compassion, leadership, and the promise to build a broader movement for change.
  • The organizations that bring people together and build their communities with grassroots power.
  • And the activists who demonstrate bravery, determination and resolve, even when the obstacles seem insurmountable and change seems out of reach.
  • Previous Honorees

    Champion in Community Organizing

    Fair Immigration Reform Movement

    Disruptor Change Champion

    Chris Hughes, Co-Chair of the Economic Security Project and Senior Advisor at the Roosevelt Institute

    Champion in Public Service

    Hon. John Lewis, Representing Georgia’s 5th District

    Champion in Community Activism

    Cecile Richards and the Young Leaders of Planned Parenthood

    Last Year's Event Photos

    Join Us